• Information
  • VISA



All visitors to the Republic of Korea must have a valid passport and obtain an Korean visa before arriving. Visitors with roundtrip tickets from countries that have a special agreement with Korea may be exempted from the visa requirement, and can stay in Korea visa-free for periods up to 30 days, or 90 days, depending on the type of agreement between the two countries. When uncertain as to the visa requirement for entry visa to Korea, please contact the Korean Embassy or a consulate as soon as possible. For more information, Click buttons.


K-ETA Application Guide

  • K-ETA is for nationals of 67 visa waiver countries and nationals of 45 designated visa-free countries. It is required for foreign nationals who intend to enter the Republic of Korea for tourism, visiting relatives, participating in events or meeting, and business purposes other than profitable activities.
  • Please keep in mind that the assessment can take more than 72 hours depending of the situation (ex, an increased number of K-ETA applications, applicants’ circumstances, etc.).Therefore, please apply for K-ETA with sufficient time.
  • The validity period of a K-ETA is 2 years from the date of approval. K-ETA approval does not guarantee entry to the Republic of Korea. The final determination of a traveler’s entry will be made by the immigration official during entry immigration inspection.
  • K-ETA approval will be refused or cancelled in any case of submitting false or inaccurate information on the K-ETA application, and that person may be subject to penalties or entry restriction according to relevant Korean laws. The same will be applicable for those who are applying on behalf of the applicant.
  • The K-ETA fee is 10,000KRW (additional fee excluded) and is non-refundable even if the application is denied.
    ※ K-ETA Center is not responsible for any third party(agency, etc.) fees for the transaction.
  • Even if your K-ETA has not expired, you are required to apply for a new K-ETA if there are any changes to your information, such as name, sex, date of birth, nationality, passport information (passport number, passport expiration date), infectious disease or criminal record.
  • If there are any changes to your purpose of entry address in Korea or contact information after your K-ETA approval, you are required to update such information through the K-ETA website (K-ETA application results - Edit Information) before entering Korea. Failure to do so may result in unfavorable measures such as entry denial.

To learn more about K-ETA , please visit here.

Notice on Temporary Exemption of K-ETA for 22 countries/regions(as of April 1, 2023)

K-ETA will be temporarily exempted to the 22 countries/regions listed below starting from April 1, 2023 to December 31, 2024, as part of a plan to support the revitalization of the tourism industry in relation to commemorating 「Visit Korea Year (2023 ~ 2024). Kindly note, if a traveler who is eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption wants to apply for K-ETA to receive benefits such as not having to submit an arrival card upon entry, he/she may apply for K-ETA and pay the fee. ※ Previously approved K-ETA will remain valid until its expiry date.

Countries/regions eligible for K-ETA temporary exemption (as of April 1, 2023)

Asia (5) Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Singapore, Taiwan
Americas (2) Canada, USA (including Guam)
Europe (13) Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, UK
Oceania (2) Australia, New Zealand